10th IEEE Global Internet Symposium 2007

(in conjunction with IEEE Infocom 2007)

Anchorage, AK, May 11 2007

Paper Submission Deadline: February 12, 2007 (extended)

with a new open review process

This document also available in pdf and ASCII

Call for Papers

The 10th IEEE Global Internet Symposium will be held simultaneously and co-located with IEEE Infocom 2007. All relevant dates, location, and travel information are available from the IEEE Infocom 2007 conference site: http://www.ieee-infocom.org/2007.

Symposium Topics

IEEE Global Internet 2007 aims to provide a forum for researchers and practitioners to present and discuss advances in Internet-related technologies. The focus of the symposium is on experimental systems and on emerging Internet technologies. The Program Committee encourages original submissions describing promising work in progress, speculations about the future of the Internet, and progressive position papers.
Authors are invited to submit papers on any issue related to Internet technology, including but not limited to the following topics:
  • P2P networking and overlay networks
  • Privacy and/or security issues in the Internet
  • Provisioning, monitoring, and management of IP services (VPNs, traffic engineering, mobility support, etc.)
  • Content networking (caching, content distribution, content routing, content services, load balancing, etc.)
  • Distributed Internet applications including games, VoIP, and video conferencing
  • Novel applications and new paradigms (telephony, streaming media, etc.)
  • Handling Internet dynamics/heterogeneity (by applications and/or the network)
  • Routing (unicast, multicast, anycast, etc.)
  • Flow management (fairness/sharing, congestion control, differentiated services, etc.)
  • The Internet and mobility/mobile devices
  • Traffic measurement, analysis, modeling, and visualization
  • Anomaly, intrusion and attack detection

Important Dates

  • Extended Paper Registration Due: February 5, 2007, 11:59 PM, PST
  • Extended Paper Submissions Due: February 12, 2007, 11:59 PM, PST
  • Notification of Acceptance: March 19, 2007
  • Final Manuscript Due: April 9, 2007
  • Symposium: May 11, 2007

Open Review Process

The review process will follow a radically different format: the reviewers' names will be made known to the authors. In addition, if the authors of the paper consent, the reviews and the names of the reviewers will be posted on our website. The goal is to put more stress on the reviewers to be gentle and thorough in their reviews. Note that GI 2007 is arguably the first forum to implement this approach in the recent past.

Executive Committee

  • TPC Chairs: Michalis Faloutsos, UC Riverside; Reza Rejaie,University of Oregon
  • Publicity & Web Chair: Jun Li, University of Oregon
  • Publication Chair: Jakob Eriksson, MIT
  • Local Arrangement: Jun-Hong Cui, University of Connecticut, Storrs

Technical Program Committee

  • Kevin Almeroth, University of California, Santa Barbara
  • Sujata Banerjee, HP Labs
  • Anup Basu, University of Alberta
  • Azer Bestavros, Boston University
  • Georg Carle, University of Tuebingen
  • Jon Crowcroft, University of Cambridge, UK
  • Michael Devetsikiotis, North Carolina State University
  • Christos Douligeris, University of Piraeus
  • Sonia Fahmy, Purdue University
  • Paul Francis, Cornell University
  • Christos Gkantsidis, Microsoft Research
  • Tim Griffin, University of Cambridge, UK
  • Ahmed Helmy, University of Florida
  • Kevin Jeffay, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
  • Anestis Karasaridis, AT&T Labs
  • Jun Li, University of Oregon
  • Jörg Liebeherr, University of Toronto
  • Bin Liu, Tsinghua University
  • John Lui, Chinese University of Hong Kong
  • Christos Papadopoulos, Colorado State University
  • Craig Partridge, BBN Technologies
  • George C. Polyzos, Athens University of Economics and Business, Greece
  • Peter Reiher, University of California, Los Angeles
  • Henning Schulzrinne, Columbia University
  • Samar Singh, La Trobe University, Australia
  • George Stamoulis, Athens University of Economics and Business, Greece
  • James Sterbenz, The University of Kansas
  • Ljiljana Trajkovic, Simon Fraser University
  • Walter Willinger, AT&T Labs
  • Daniel Zappala, Brigham Young University
  • Zhi-Li Zhang, University of Minnesota
  • Taieb Znati, University of Pittsburgh

Back to main page