

9th Workshop on Secure Network Protocols (NPSec 2014)
Raleigh, North Carolina, October 21, 2014
In conjunction with the 22nd IEEE International Conference on Network Protocols (ICNP)

Call For Papers

Web Page

http://netsec.cs.uoregon.edu/npsec2014

Important Dates

Submission Deadline (extended): July 17, 2014 (11:59 PM PDT)

Notification of acceptance (extended): August 9, 2014

Camera ready version: August 16, 2014

Scope

The Workshop on Secure Network Protocols (NPSec) is a top workshop focusing on cutting-edge research with a broad range of topics related to secure network protocols. NPSec 2014 focuses on two exciting areas related to secure network protocols. The first focus is on the development and analysis of networking protocols for the secure operation of various network infrastructures, including both today's Internet and future Internet architectures, wireless and mobile networking, cloud-based networking, peer-to-peer and overlay networks, online social networking, and Internet of things. Papers about new secure protocols, security enhancements to existing protocols, or protocol analysis (such as new attacks on existing protocols) are all welcome. The second focus is on employing such secure network protocols to create or enhance network applications, such as those related to the Web, online social networking, online gaming, or cloud-based applications. Topics of interest include but are not limited to:

- Vulnerabilities of existing protocols and applications (both theoretical and case studies), including attacks
- Design of new secure or resilient network protocols
- Security enhancements to existing networking protocols
- Deployment study of secure protocols on the Internet (e.g., BGPSEC, DNSSEC, IPSEC)
- Security in future Internet architectures (e.g. Information-centric networking, software-defined networking)
- Secure network protocols for network applications (e.g., cloud-based apps, online social networking, gaming)

Submission Requirements

Papers need to be submitted at the web page http://edas.info/newPaper.php?c=18197. Submitted papers must be no longer than six (6) pages in double-column format with standard margins (i.e., at least one inch all around) and at least a 10 point font. This length includes everything: figures, tables, references, appendices and so forth. Longer submissions will not be reviewed.

Papers must be written in English and formatted for printing on US LETTER (8.5" by 11") size paper. Papers should include a title; full list of authors, their organization and email address; and an abstract of fewer than 200 words.

All papers must adhere to IEEE formatting standards. Consult the IEEE Transactions LaTeX and Microsoft Word Style Files (http://www.ieee.org/web/publications/authors/transjnl/index.html). Papers must be submitted in PDF (Portable Document Format) and compatible with Acrobat (English version), not including any special characters or non-standard fonts.

Best Paper Award and Journal Publication

The Best Paper Award Committee of NPSec 2014 will select a paper in this year's NPSec Program to receive the Best Paper Award. Every accepted paper will be considered based on its originality, writing quality, potential of impact, and its presentation at the workshop.

We are further working on establishing a journal special issue on secure network protocols. While open to the public, the special issue will also invite the authors of quality papers from NPSec to submit an extended version of their work.

Steering Committee

Sonia Fahmy, Purdue University, USA (chair) George Kesidis, Penn State University, USA Cristina Nita-Rotaru, Purdue University, USA Gene Tsudik, UC Irvine, USA

Technical Program Committee

Johanna Amann, International Computer Science Institute Fred Baker, Cisco Research Center Randy Bush, Internet Initiative Japan Wu-chang Feng, Portland State University Stephen Kent, BBN Technologies Huan Li, Beihang University Qi Li, ETH Zurich Olaf Maennel, Loughborough University Daniel Massey, US Department of Homeland Security Colin Perkins, University of Glasgow

Peter Reiher, UCLA

Lan Wang, University of Memphis

Brian Weis, Cisco Systems

Tilman Wolf, University of Massachusetts

Ying Zhang, Ericsson Research

Xukai Zou, School of Science, Purdue University-Indianapolis

Technical Program Committee Chairs

Jun Li, University of Oregon, USA Wei Zhao, University of Macau, China